Charter Commission

Charter Commission

The City of Mounds View is seeking applicants to serve on the Charter Commission.

Deadline to apply is August 26, 2020.  Applicants must be residents and are appointed by the Court.  The City is requesting you also provide a copy of your application to us as Council has authority to give advice to the court on appointments.  Contact Nyle Zikmund at or 612-860-7442 if you have any questions.

The Mounds View Home Rule Charter establishes the basic organization, functions, and operational procedures of our city government. The purpose of the Charter Commission is to serve as custodians of the Mounds View City Charter in accordance with state laws to ensure that the Charter is an effective and workable document that will benefit our residents in overseeing city operations and expenditures.

The members are appointed by the District Judge to four-year overlapping terms. Approximately half of the appointments expire every two years. The Commission originated in 1979 when the City of Mounds View adopted a Home-Rule Charter Plan.

The Charter Commission currently meets on the 3rd Tuesday of every other month at 7 pm. Members are listed below:

Member Address Phone Term Expires
Brian Amundsen 3048 Woodale Drive 763.786.5699 10-31-2020
Brandon Clawson 8404 Sunnyside Road 651.235.6052  10-31-2022
Dennis Erickson  2175 Terrace Drive 612.270.5293  10-31-2020
Justin Klander 8354 Fairchild Avenue  651.587.7481  10-31-2022
Jerry Peterson 8125 Red Oak Drive 612.607.3953  10-31-2020 
Miranda Munson 7550 Greenfield Avenue 651-295-2997 10-31-2022
Jonathan J. Thomas 8040 Groveland Road 763.784.5205 10-31-2020
Russell Warren - (Chair) 8044 Greenwood Drive  763.786.3591  10-31-2020
Bob King 7408 Silver Lake Road 763-785-0497 10-31-2022